About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2014 Clarence Gaines Award

April 4, 2014


DALLAS, TX  -- East Stroudsburg's Jeff Wilson is the recipient of the 2014 Clarence "Big House" Gaines award, presented annually to the top Division II coach in college basketball.

Wilson guided ESU to a historic 30-2 season and the No. 1 seed in the NCAA Atlantic Regional in his 12th season at his alma mater. The Warriors finished the regular season ranked No. 2 in the NABC DII coaches poll with a 28-1 record, earning a spot in the final NABC Top 25 poll for the first time in program history. ESU was just the second school in the last eight years to finish in the top two after being unranked in the preseason poll.

Wilson led the Warriors to their second PSAC championship in three years and fourth trip to the NCAA Tournament in the last five years, compiling a 112-39 record with four 20-wins seasons in that stretch – a long way from Wilson and assistant coach Justin Potts taking over a four-win team prior to the 2002-03 season.

One of the true legends of all-time, Clarence Gaines retired from Winston-Salem State University in 1993 with a record of 828-446. At the time he was the winningest active basketball coach in NCAA history. He was elected to Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame in 1982.


Derrick Clark Metropolitan State
Robert Corn Missouri Southern
Rick Croy Cal Baptist
Michael Donnelly Southern Connecticut State
Leon Douglas Tuskegee
Stan Gouard Indianapolis
Steve Hettinga Lake Superior State
Jeff Oliver Cal State San Bernardino
Lonn Reisman Tarleton State
Josh Schertz Lincoln Memorial
Jeff Wilson East Stroudsburg
Greg Zimmerman Alderson-Broaddus


Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.