About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2016 Clarence Gaines Award

Minnesota State-Moorhead assistant Justin Wieck accepts the 2015 Clarence Gaines award for Chad Walthall at the CollegeInsider.com Award's Banquet on April 3 in Indianapolis.

April 4, 2016


HOUSTON, TX  -- Lincoln Memorial's Josh Schertz is the recipient of the 2016 Clarence Gaines division II National Coach of the Year.

Schertz led the Railsplitters to a 34-3 record and the first NCAA Division II National Championship game appearance in program history, breaking the league and school record for wins and becoming the first program in SAC history to go undefeated in conference play with a 22-0 mark.

One of the true legends of all-time, Gaines retired from Winston-Salem State University in 1993 with a record of 828-446. At the time he was the winningest active basketball coach in NCAA history. Gaines was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 1982.

During his 47-year tenure as coach and athletic director at WSSU he coached professional basketball greats Cleo Hill (first African-American from an historically Black college and university to be drafted No. 1 by the National Basketball Association, St. Louis Hawks, 1961) and Earl "The Pearl" Monroe.


Ken Amman Concordia (California)
Tobin Anderson St. Thomas Aquinas
Justin Barkley, Rogers State Rogers State
Randy Baruth Saginaw Valley State
Tom Billeter Augustana
Lonnie Blow, Jr. Virginia State
Michael Cooney West Geogia
Jim Crutchfield West Liberty
Keith Dickson Saint Anselm
Mick Durham Alaska-Fairbanks
John Ellenwood Ashland
Blake Flickner Dallas Baptist
Donte Jackson Stillman
Jamahl Jackson Emmanuel
Steve Kinder Humboldt State
Ben McCollum Northwest Missouri State
Bob Pietrack Fort Lewis
George Pitts King University
Luke Reigel Wisconsin-Parkside
Steve Roberts Lander
Tom Ryan Eckerd
Danny Sancomb Wheeling Jesuit
Josh Schertz Lincoln Memorial
Jim Shaw Western Oregon
Chad Walthall Minnesota State-Moorhead


Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.